Faux-Country Boil and the Moose-mallow

image

Here in California, we don’t really have any good-and-proper regiinal dishes. At least, not this far inland. So I made up my own version of a low-country boil. The entire thing cost about 12 bucks, and lasted two days (one dinner and one breakfast, for two). I call it a Faux-Country Boil because I didn’t follow any of the recipes, I just sort of threw shit in a pot and hoped it worked (which it DID). I’ll have the recipe up at the end of the post.
And now, the Moose-mallow.

image

I have the weekly pleasure of working with this little butt. He doesn’t have a proper name, but I call him Moose. Later, Iriarty came up with the idea of calling him Moose-mallow, because just a week ago, he looked like a wiggly marshmallow. Right now, he’s a full four weeks old, pure white, and we’re fairly sure his eyes are slowly turning brown. Side note: I work at a rescue shelter here in NorCal. Also, Moose peed on me today. Fun stuff.
Okay, I hope you enjoyed puppy pics. It’s recipe time.

Woad’s Faux-Country Boil

Ingredients:
3/4 lb shrimp, raw and deveined, shells on
2 4-oz lobster tails, halved
1/2 lb beef chunks, pan-fried
1 lb new yellow potatoes, quartered
3 ears corn, sliced into thirds
1 shallot, sliced
Old Bay Seasoning  (or some approximation thereof)

Boil a giant pot of water with sliced shallot and old bay to taste. I use about a handful of my own recipe. Dump in your quartered potatoes and pan fried beef. Boil 10 minutes.
Add the corn and lobster tails, boil 5 minutes.
Last, dump in your shrimp, skin still on, and boil another 4-5 minutes, until the pink shrimps start floating to the top. Strain the liquid off and dump the lot onto a plastic-covered table.
I suggest serving with cocktail sauce, melted butter, salt and pepper, some good bread, and a little bowl of sour cream for the potatoes.

♡Woad

Leave a Reply

